draining's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Why I (Still) Read Cosmo, 2006

I used to buy a Cosmo about every four months, decided it was stupid, and then forgot I'd made that decision four months later, and bought another one. But I was buying them enough that I decided I might as well get a subscription, which I did, and regret. It's the same thing every month. The "artsy" and "hippie" fashions are neither artsy nor hippie, most of the articles are just getting you to buy products (like what to use to "Never Get a Zit Again!"), and as my once boyfriend and before-and-since good friend pointed out, "reading this shit is why you think you're fat."

But, I have to say, there are good things about Cosmo. There are usually two (that's not much, but they're there) "real life" reads, often involving date rape stories. As the authors of "Manifesta" point out, the subjects of the stories are often "prettied up" for the photo shoots, but the stories are still important. There was another story about "How Safe Is Plastic Surgery?" which went into women's horror stories, and how to check up on a surgeon to make sure he/she's legit before going under the knife.

That said, these days, I'd much rather read Bitch. I can relate to it more, for one thing because I'm not a yuppie. And I don't really care about my few acne scars-- I figure when I do care, I'll cover 'em up with my Clinique spot concealer. (Hey, I AM in the Clinique diaryring-- see right.) And I could care less about Lindsay Lohan and Avril Levigne-- I'd much rather read about Barbara Ehrenreich. But... those glossy, perfumy-smelling pages, where you can get a whiff of the latest fragrances by Britney Spears, Paris Hilton, and J-Lo... it's all really lame, yet, somehow, enticing nevertheless.

Later: I cancelled my subscription to Cosmo (I'll get my money back for the issues I'll miss) and subscribed to Bitch.

9:02 a.m. - 2006-03-20
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

dragprincess
fan4
joeparadox
catz-eyes
sundaygirl
sarahsundae
waxpoetic
sparkle280
fallenorra
hamiltonian
flowermouths
scratchvinyl
simplyjulia
ofenchant
itssoeasy
do-not-judge
cocksucker69
theicing
xxchyldxx
navysenior
iamstronger
hard-as-silk
iwantobeliev